top of page

22 Days and Counting...

THERE ARE ONLY TWENTY-THREE DAYS UNTIL I GET ON A PLANE TO START MY JOURNEY TO AUSTRALIA.

Here are five things I'm looking forward to and six things I need prayer for, along with a couple extra thoughts and updates I've thrown in for free. You lucky ducks.

Marissa + Unicorn

I'm looking forward to...

  1. Learning about who God really is- not who I've believed he is

  2. A new culture (love ya, Kansas, but I'm ready for something different)

  3. New friends and contacts around the world

  4. Learning what God is calling me into after YWAM

  5. Exploring

I need prayer for...

  1. All of those things ^^^

  2. Fundraising to be completed (I'm just under halfway funded! Click here if you'd like to donate!)

  3. Humility to learn new cultures

  4. Vulnerability with my teammates

  5. An open heart to hear the gospel for myself again

  6. Safety in travel

This fundraising journey has shown me a whole lot about myself that, frankly, I didn't want to know. For the first time, I'm being forced to actually work for something (school always came easily to me) because the skills fundraising requires are not natural to me. I'm talking about things like self-starting and asking for help. Both of these are so, so tough. After a week of being frustrated at my ​inability, which I spent eating my feelings and binge watching The Good Place, I'm starting to understand that even if it's ​​hard, both of these characteristics are worth working for. For those of you who have stuck with me through my blind spots, thank you. You deserve a medal and a million dollars. I'll get on that soon.

Scotland is lovely.

I recently got back from a trip with my oldest friend, Marissa (see above). We traveled to London, Paris, and three different cities in Scotland: Inverness, Edinburgh, and Aberdeen. It was so nice to spend some time with her. Our friendship has endured eleven years of life and is invaluable to me. She's one of the few who can always chill me out when I get nutty. I don't know what I'd do without her. Shout out to our seventh grade Foreign Language class for introducing us and a shout out to Jesus for the fact that she chose to be my friend despite the size of my post-pubescent nose on my prepubescent face. This trip was the last time we could see each other before I get back from DTS in March, too, which is really sucky. Long distance friendships are a trip, y'all. 3/10, would only recommend if your friend is as treasured as mine. (Obviously she's a 10/10.)

I'm glad to be home for now but I'm excited to hop on another plane soon to start my journey to Australia! In order to split up the *at minimum* 23-hour journey to Newcastle and lessen the cost of my plane ticket, I'll spend two days in San Diego with one of my college roommates' parents. I'm looking forward to spending time with them and their church fam, sipping coffee in the sunshine and going to the beach for an afternoon. Praise God for beaches. Growing up land-locked really gives a girl an appreciation for big bodies of water. Australia's going to be fun.

About Me

40681534_10213146961891565_5992346591946

This is a space where I write down my thoughts and qualms about life, faith, and missions. I won't promise pretty or put together, but I will promise to be honest about my mess. I hope you find what you're looking for!

bottom of page